Announcement: 2015 CAPHC Contribution to Child Health Award - Dr. Denis Daneman





Recognizing Outstanding Leadership and Dedication to the Health and Well-being of Canada’s Children and Youth!

Congratulations to Dr. Denis Daneman!

The CAPHC Board of Directors is honoured to recognize Dr. Denis Daneman, Paediatrician-in-Chief at the Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids) and Chair of the Department of Paediatrics at the University of Toronto, as the recipient of the 2015  CAPHC Contribution to Child Health Award.

Established by the CAPHC Board of Directors in 2005, this prestigious award recognizes outstanding achievement from multiple perspectives and was created to recognize individuals who have dedicated their careers to making a difference in the lives and well-being of children, youth and families in Canada.

Throughout Dr. Daneman’s 40 year career, he has made a difference in the lives of so many children, youth and families through his clinical and research contributions, mentorship and teaching and inspiring leadership in both health promotion and policy, especially in the area of social determinants of health. Dr. Daneman’s commitment and advocacy for the needs of children, youth and families, particularly, those least fortunate in our society is most remarkable. 

Dr. Daneman ranks among the most distinguished, respected and well-known paediatric diabetologists in the world and cares deeply for his patients, trainees, and colleagues and has made enormous contributions as a clinician, clinical investigator and as a scientific leader.

The 2015 CAPHC Contribution to Child Health Award will be presented to Dr. Daneman on Tuesday, October 20, 2015 at CAPHC’s Annual Awards Luncheon, which will be held in conjunction with CAPHC’s Annual Conference in Quebec City, at the Quebec City Convention Centre.

The CAPHC Board of Directors is truly honoured to present Dr. Daneman with the 2015 Contribution to Child Health Award!

Elaine Orrbine
President & CEO, CAPHC

Ann WatkinsComment